SIMPLICITY

When I moved to Agadir in 2006 a dear friend gave me a copy of this text.  I have no idea where it came from but I love it

“Those who live simply tend to love their solitude, spending time alone in some daily inner activity such as prayer, meditation, journal writing, walking and nature gazing. At the same time they enjoy fulfilling relationships with others, although those relationships may be fewer in number than might be typical in the mainstream culture. We are both solitary and social; we need to nourish each aspect of ourselves.

I’ve simplified my life so that I have time for the things I really want to do. I want time to think, to read, to walk more. I want time for rewarding encounters with others. Simplifying outer things lets me order my interior life.

People who live simply tend to avoid activities and relationships that complicate their lives. If my life is already full of activities that nourish me I will not seek further commitments.

Now I go to sleep when I’m tired and wake up when my mind and body are ready to embrace the day. To me waking up after a good night’s sleep is one of the finest pleasures in life.

I simply revel in having time to read as much as I like, pursue serious spiritual seeking, do all my walking, running, yoga and tai chi, hike when I want to, write regularly, easily have many house guests, travel in a leisurely fashion, keep up a large correspondence, do volunteer work that connects me to the community.

She discovered she doesn’t need very much money to live, and that time is more important to her than money. She spent her days just being. landscaping. cooking, gardening, relaxing, reading, thinking and listening to music. On some days she took off to explore the area, with no planned itinerary.”

 

Makes my day when someone takes time to comment. Thank you.